WTU Force Structure

The Army periodically evaluates and adjusts the force structure of the Warrior Transition Units (WTUs) within the Warrior Care and Transition Program (WCTP) while continuing to support and empower wounded, ill and injured Soldiers, Veterans, and Families through a Comprehensive Transition Plan (CTP). The CTP prepares Soldiers to successfully integrate back to the force and enhance unit readiness or successfully transition to civilian status. The adjustments being made are based on the overall population and needs of the Senior Commanders to ensure we align the proper resources across the enterprise.

The forthcoming changes are part of the periodic review to ensure the Army remains committed to providing the best care and support to wounded, ill and injured Soldiers and their families.

Since the inception of the program in 2007, the WCTP has continued evolving to meet the changing needs of the Army and Soldiers in transition. The current population of approximately 3,000 Soldiers has remained steady. As of 2019, the 14 WTU locations are resourced based on their population size and Senior Commanders’ needs.

The current WTU footprint includes: Bethesda, Maryland; Fort Belvoir, Virginia; Fort Benning, Georgia; Fort Bliss, Texas; Fort Bragg, North Carolina; Fort Campbell, Kentucky; Fort Carson, Colorado; Fort Drum, New York; Fort Hood, Texas; Fort Riley, Kansas; Fort Stewart, Georgia; Joint Base Lewis McChord, Washington; Joint Base San Antonio, Texas; and Schofield Barracks, Hawaii.

Each of the WTU locations has a Community Care Unit capability, except Bethesda and Joint Base San Antonio. These two locations use the CCU capability at nearby Fort Belvoir and Fort Hood, respectively.